St. Bonaventure University Press Release

(Link to Sewickley Academy Programming Team Home Page)

March 5, 2001

For immediate release:

Sewickley Academy from Sewickley, PA, won the Thirteenth Annual Invitational High School Programming Contest at St. Bonaventure University held on Friday, March 2.  Sewickley Academy team was one of four schools to solve six of the eight problems.  Sewickley Academy solved the six problems in a total of only 319 minutes.  Starpoint Central High School from Lockport, NY, finished second solving six problems in 405 minutes and St. Edward High School from Lakewood, OH, finished third solving six problems in 423 minutes.  Upper St. Clair High School from Pittsburgh, PA, also solved six problems correctly, solving them in 491 minutes.

Thirty-nine teams from New York, Pennsylvania, Ohio, and Maryland competed in the one-day contest which was co-sponsored by the St. Bonaventure University Computer Science Department and Metrowerks Corporation.  Teams consist of up to four team members, all of whom must be enrolled at their respective high schools.  Teams were given a set of eight problems, a computer in one of the university’s labs, and three hours in which to solve as many of the problems as possible.  Teams are ranked based upon the number of problems that they solved and the time in which they solved them.

During the competition, the teams’ faculty advisors met to discuss teaching strategies.  Erica Teichman of Metrowerks Corporation also gave a brief presentation on that company’s products.  As part of their sponsorship, Metrowerks provided each participating school with a complete C++/Java programming environment.

The winning team from Sewickley Academy consisted of Robert Mulshine, Ryan Buterbaugh, Evan Mallory, and Steve Brudenell.  Mr. David Kosbie accompanied the team as their advisor.  The second place team from Starpoint High School consisted of Shannon McKernan, Adam Eschborn, Bill Boulden, and Kevin Ruggirello; Mr. Dana Moore served as their advisor.  The third place team from St. Edward High School included Eric Eilberg, Charlie Spuckler, and Carl Stabb; Mr. David Heil served as their advisor.

In addition to the top three teams, the competition included students from the following schools:  Alden High School, Allegany-Limestone Central School, Atholton High School, Brocton Central School, Canadaigua Academy, Cicero-North Syracuse High School, Clarion Area High School, Clyde-Savannah Central School, Depew High School, East Syracuse – Minoa High School, Fredonia High School, Gowanda Central High School, Grand Island High School, Greece Arcadia High School, Hilton Central School District, Honeoye Falls-Lima Central School, Hornell High School, Horseheads High School, Hutchinson Technical Central High School, Irondequoit High School, Ithaca High School, Lancaster High School, Livonia Jr/Sr High School, North Royalton High School, Olean High School, Orchard Park High School, Oswego High School, Penn Yan Academy, Pittsford Sutherland High School, Portville High School, Roslyn High School, Scio Central School, Sewickley Academy, St. Edward High School, Starpoint Central High School, Titusville High School, Upper St. Clair High School, Williamsville North High School, and Williamsville South High School.

The annual competition is conducted by the Computer Science Department of St. Bonaventure University, with the assistance of the University’s Technology Services division.

Contest results, including contest questions, previous results, and contest rules are available on the World Wide Web at

Further information can be obtained by calling the contest director, Dr. Steven K. Andrianoff, at 375-2053.